History

The yurt of the Mongolian nomads

Jurte_Geschichte_Zeltwelt.ch_1

The yurt (Turkish: Yurt = home) is the traditional tent of nomads in Western and Central Asia.

The yurt serves the Mongolian nomads as mobile housing and therefore stands for a culture of mobility. At the same time, it is an expression of the compulsion to adapt to natural cycles. Due to the necessary flexibility, their tents must be easy to assemble and disassemble and are optimally adapted to the climatic conditions. A yurt can also pack relatively small, so that previously only two camels, yaks or a few horses were needed to transport a yurt.

The nomadic self-image is based here on the model of Genghis Khan, the famous leader of a huge equestrian army in 12.-13. Century. In the 20 years 98% of the Mongols lived in a yurt. After that, the People's Republic offered alternatives by building industry, jobs, and settlements. In the middle of the 80s only 35 percent of the Mongols lived nomadic. Democracy and the market economy were introduced at the beginning of the 90s. Gentle tourism also offers nomads new sources of income. Since then, many Mongols find their way back to mobile life, and scientists even talk about re-nomadization.

The wooden frame of a Mongolian yurt has hardly changed to this day and usually consists of scissor lattices for the wall, a crown in the middle, which is supported by two columns and the rafters that connect the lattice and the crown. The original yurt was isolated with several layers of felt and then covered with various cloths. The door was often painted with intricate colored patterns, as well as the columns, roof crown and poles.

The yurt reflects in its institution the social and spiritual order, the people living in it. Each member of the family is assigned his or her place and area of ​​activity in the yurt. Room layout and equipment are highly optimized to allow cooking, working, living and sleeping in the limited space and the sometimes extreme climatic conditions.

Even today, yurts are of great importance in Mongolia. Not only the nomads, but also parts of the urban population live part of the year in the yurt, which in winter are sometimes even warmer than the built-up houses.

Jurte_Modern_Zeltwelt. Ch

Source: Camping Sunêlia L'Atlantique

The shape of the traditional yurt is reinterpreted by many yurt farmers in America and Europe. Meanwhile, there are a variety of modern yurts, which have been adapted to today's comfort with a kitchen and bathroom. These yurts no longer have much to do with nomadic culture, but are proof of how versatile this ingenious tent architecture can be.

Zeltwelt Subscribe to newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive in the future exciting news, the latest offers from our marketplace as well as tips and tent stories from the world of natural tents conveniently in your digital mailbox.

Translate »
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×

Geschichte

Die Jurte der mongolischen Nomaden

Jurte_Geschichte_Zeltwelt.ch_1

Die Jurte (türkisch: Yurt = Heim) ist das traditionelle Zelt der Nomaden in West- und Zentralasien.

Die Jurte dient den mongolischen Nomaden als mobile Wohnunterkunft und steht daher für eine Kultur der Mobilität. Zugleich ist sie Ausdruck des Zwangs, sich den natürlichen Kreisläufen anzupassen. Durch die nötige Beweglichkeit müssen ihre Zelte leicht auf- und abzubauen sein und sind den klimatischen Bedingungen optimal angepasst. Eine Jurte kann sich zudem verhältnismäßig klein verpacken, so dass früher für den Transport einer Jurte nur zwei Kamele, Yaks oder ein paar Pferde benötigt wurden.

Das nomadische Selbstverständnis fußt hier auf dem Vorbild Dschingis Khans, dem berühmten Führer eines riesigen Reiterheeres im 12.-13. Jahrhundert. So wohnten in den 20er Jahren 98% der Mongolen in einer Jurte. Danach bot die Volksrepublik Alternativen durch den Aufbau von Industrie, Jobs und Siedlungen an. Mitte der 80er Jahre lebten nur noch 35 Prozent der Mongolen nomadisch. Anfang der 90er Jahre wurden Demokratie und Marktwirtschaft eingeführt. Auch der sanfte Tourismus bietet den Nomaden neue Einnahmequellen. Seitdem finden viele Mongolen zum mobilen Leben zurück, Wissenschaftler sprechen sogar von Re-Nomadisierung.

Der Holzrahmen einer mongolischen Jurte hat sich bis heute kaum verändert und besteht in der Regel aus Scherengittern für die Wand, einer Krone in der Mitte, die durch zwei Stützen getragen wird und den Dachsparren, die das Gitter und die Krone miteinander verbinden. Die ursprüngliche Jurte wurde mit mehreren Filzschichten isoliert und danach mit diversen Tüchern abgedeckt. Die Tür wurde häufig mit verschlungenen farbigen Mustern bemalt, ebenso die Stützen, Dachkrone und Stangen.

Die Jurte spiegelt in ihrer Einrichtung die soziale und spirituelle Ordnung, der in ihr lebenden Menschen wieder. Jedem Familienmitglied sind sein Platz und sein Wirkungsbereich in der Jurte genau zugewiesen. Raumaufteilung und Ausstattung sind hoch optimiert, um bei dem begrenzten Raumangebot und den teils extremen klimatischen Bedingungen Kochen, Arbeiten, Wohnen und Schlafen zu ermöglichen.

Auch heute noch haben Jurten in der Mongolei eine große Bedeutung, nicht nur die Nomaden, sondern auch Teile der städtischen Bevölkerung leben einen Teil des Jahres in der Jurte, die im Winter manchmal sogar wärmer sind als die festgebauten Häuser.

Jurte_Modern_Zeltwelt.ch

Bildquelle: Camping Sunêlia L’Atlantique

Die Form der traditionellen Jurte wird von vielen Jurtenbauern in Amerika und Europa neu interpretiert. Inzwischen existiert eine Vielzahl von modernen Jurten, die dem heutigen Komfort mit einer Küche und Bad entsprechend angepasst wurden. Diese Jurten haben nicht mehr viel mit der nomadischen Kultur zu tun, sind aber Beweis dafür, wie vielseitig diese geniale Zeltbauarchitektur eingesetzt werden kann.

Translate »
Zeltwelt Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie zukünftig spannende News, die neusten Angebote aus unserem Marktplatz sowie Tipps und Zeltgeschichten aus der Welt der Naturzelte bequem in Ihr digitales Postfach.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×