History

The knight tents in the Middle Ages

In European history, the term Middle Ages refers to the epoch between the end of antiquity and the beginning of the modern era, around the 6th to 15th centuries. The Middle Ages are divided into three parts: early, high and late Middle Ages.

In the transition from late antiquity to the early Middle Ages, the political and cultural unity of the Mediterranean area, which was shaped by Greco-Roman antiquity, broke up. While the Byzantine Empire remained intact in the east, the western empire fell in 476. New empires emerged, inhabited by Roman, Germanic, Slavic and Celtic peoples. While the ancient core area was already influenced by Christianity, the remaining "pagan" areas of Europe were Christianized in the Middle Ages.

The high Middle Ages were the heyday of chivalry and the Roman-German Empire, feudalism and the song of Minnesota. The population began to grow, crafts and trade were promoted and education was no longer exclusively a privilege of the clergy. However, the development in the individual kingdoms was quite different. The Crusades fall into this epoch. Later the religious goals of the crusades took a back seat, often in favor of power politics and economic interests.

The late Middle Ages were the times of the rising bourgeoisie of the cities and the money economy. The worst catastrophe of the 14th century was the plague, which killed almost half of Europe's population, especially in the cities. The depopulation led to uprisings and a change in social structures, which weakened chivalry in favor of the bourgeoisie and sparked some reform movements in the Catholic Church. The arts and sciences were also on the move in the late Middle Ages. The founding of the first universities in the High Middle Ages and the invention of the printing press gave science and philosophy a new upswing. New possibilities opened up for artists, painting, which was previously limited to church motifs, was now expanded to other areas, and three-dimensionality was also discovered by the painters.

The transition from the Middle Ages to the modern era was largely due to the invention of modern letterpress printing around 1450, the discovery of the new world by Christopher Columbus in 1492 and the loss of the influence of the institutionalized Catholic Church with the beginning of the Reformation.

Source: wikipedia.org
Source: kayserstuhl.de

Zeltwelt Subscribe to newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive in the future exciting news, the latest offers from our marketplace as well as tips and tent stories from the world of natural tents conveniently in your digital mailbox.

Translate »
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×

Geschichte

Die Ritterzelte im Mittelalter

Der Begriff des Mittelalters bezeichnet in der europäischen Geschichte die Epoche zwischen dem Ende der Antike und dem Beginn der Neuzeit ca. 6. bis 15. Jahrhundert. Das Mittelalter gliedert sich in drei Teile: frühes, hohes und spätes Mittelalter.

Im Übergang von der Spätantike ins Frühmittelalter zerbrach die politische und kulturelle Einheit, des durch die griechisch-römische Antike geprägten Mittelmeerraums. Während das Byzantinische Reich im Osten intakt blieb, ging das Westreich 476 unter. Es entstanden neue Reiche, bewohnt von romanischen, germanischen, slawischen und keltischen Völkern. Während der antike Kernraum bereits christlich geprägt war, wurden im Mittelalter die übrigen „heidnischen“ Gebiete von Europa christianisiert.

Das Hochmittelalter war die Blütezeit des Rittertums und des römisch-deutschen Kaiserreichs, des Lehnswesens und des Minnegesangs. Die Bevölkerung begann zu wachsen, Handwerk und Handel wurden gefördert und auch die Bildung war nun nicht länger ausschließlich ein Privileg des geistlichen Standes. Allerdings verlief die Entwicklung in den einzelnen Reichen recht unterschiedlich. In diese Epoche fallen die Kreuzzüge. Später traten die religiösen Ziele der Kreuzzüge in den Hintergrund, oftmals zugunsten von Machtpolitik und wirtschaftlichen Interessen.

Das Spätmittelalter war die Zeit des aufsteigenden Bürgertums der Städte und der Geldwirtschaft. Die schlimmste Katastrophe im 14. Jahrhundert stellte die Pest dar, die in Europa fast die Hälfte der europäischen Bevölkerung, vor allem in den Städten, das Leben kostete. Die Entvölkerung führte zu Aufständen und einem Wandel der Sozialstrukturen, die das Rittertum zugunsten des Bürgertums schwächten und in der katholischen Kirche einige Reformbewegungen auslösten. Ebenfalls die Kunst und Wissenschaften befanden sich im Spätmittelalter im Aufbruch. Die bereits im Hochmittelalter erfolgte Gründung der ersten Universitäten und die Erfindung des Buchdrucks verhalfen den Wissenschaften und der Philosophie zu einem neuen Aufschwung. Künstlern eröffneten sich neue Möglichkeiten, die bisher auf kirchliche Motive beschränkte Malerei wurde nun auf andere Bereiche ausgeweitet, auch die Dreidimensionalität wurde von den Malern entdeckt.

Für den Übergang vom Mittelalter zur Neuzeit war im Wesentlichen die Erfindung des modernen Buchdrucks um 1450, die Entdeckung der neuen Welt durch Christoph Kolumbus 1492 und der Verlust des Einflusses der institutionalisierten katholischen Kirche mit dem Beginn der Reformation verantwortlich.

Quelle: wikipedia.org
Bildquelle: kayserstuhl.de

Translate »
Zeltwelt Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie zukünftig spannende News, die neusten Angebote aus unserem Marktplatz sowie Tipps und Zeltgeschichten aus der Welt der Naturzelte bequem in Ihr digitales Postfach.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×