Impregnation of natural tents

WHAT IS NIKWAX?

NIKWAX COTTON PROOF is the perfect care for our natural tents!

The impregnation is refreshed by NIKWAX and takes care of all natural substances. NIKWAX care products are environmentally friendly and safe to use. You can purchase NIKWAX COTTON PROOF directly from us. One liter is sufficient for an area of ​​approx. 60m².

Tip as pdf

Tipp_Nikwax_Palette_Zeltwelt. Ch

NIKWAX products are 100% water-based, non-flammable and without propellants or fluorocarbons!

AWARD NIKWAX


1/2013 Greenpeace: Call for a ban on impregnating agents based on fluorocarbons (PFC)

Greenpeace published a report calling for a ban on all PFC chemicals in the outdoor industry. NIKWAX Nursing products have never included PFC, because NIKWAX shares Greenpeace's concern that these chemicals pose a risk to human health and the environment!

ZELTWELT does this too ...


HOW DO I IMPREGNATE WITH NIKWAX?

Application

Treatment with NIKWAX is recommended for intensive, year-round use and, depending on the condition of the material, after two years at the latest. If you want to dismantle the tent in autumn or if it is very dirty, it is advisable to clean the tent beforehand (see tip - tent cleaning) and only care for it afterwards. After a harsh winter, we would do the waterproofing on a dry spring day.

For this you need:

  • Presenters
  • Garden atomizer / pressure sprayer (retailers, hardware store)
  • possibly a household mop

Mix 1 part NIKWAX well with 9 parts warm water (1: 9) and carefully apply the material from top to bottom. If the tent is wet, the ratio may need to be reduced to around 1: 7-8 parts of water. If the agent is mixed too thinly, it will run off too quickly over the edge of the tent. It would be ideal if the agent flows but there is enough time to distribute it evenly. A mop can help you work the excess agent into the material. In order for you to get an optimal result, the agent must then be able to dry out completely.

HOW DOES NIKWAX COTTON PROOF WORK?

The water runs off the material treated with NIKWAX, which minimizes contact of water with the material. For example, when raindrops hit the surface of the material, the drops are distorted in shape, but do not penetrate the tissue. The water-repellent fibers prevent contact with the water that collects on the surface.  

25 years ago Nick Brown, inventor of NIKWAX, developed and patented the water-repellent NIKWAX elastomer TX.10i. When treated with NIKWAX, textile fibers are covered with a layer of elastic, water-repellent molecules. These molecules bind with anything that attracts water, but leave the gaps between the fibers open and thus remain breathable.

NIKWAX impregnation treatments bend and move with the textile fibers. The TX.10i elastomer also gives textiles additional resilience. By lubricating the textiles, the fibers can slide over one another again without great resistance. The impregnation treatments also ensure that the fibers are coated with elastic polymer, which has a resilient property. The fibers can thus expand to a certain degree and return to their original position. This reduces the stress at the points of contact between the fibers and increases the tensile strength of the textiles.

nIKWAx cotton proof video

Zeltwelt Subscribe to Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive in the future exciting news, the latest offers from our marketplace as well as tips and tent stories from the world of natural tents conveniently in your digital mailbox.

Translate »
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×

Imprägnierung von Naturzelten

WAS IST NIKWAX?

NIKWAX COTTON PROOF ist die perfekte Pflege für unsere Naturzelte!

Die Imprägnierung wird durch NIKWAX aufgefrischt und pflegt alle Naturstoffe. NIKWAX Pflegemittel sind umweltfreundlich und unbedenklich anzuwenden. Sie können NIKWAX COTTON PROOF direkt über uns beziehen. Ein Liter reicht für eine Fläche von ca. 60m².

tipp als pdf

Tipp_Nikwax_Palette_Zeltwelt.ch

NIKWAX Produkte sind zu 100% auf Wasserbasis, nicht brennbar und ohne Treibgase oder Fluorkarbone!

AUSZEICHNUNG NIKWAX


1/2013 Greenpeace: Aufruf zum Verbot von Imprägniermitteln auf Basis von Fluorkarbonen (PFC)

Greenpeace veröffentlichte einen Bericht, in welchem zu einem Verbot von sämtlichen PFC-Chemikalien in der Outdoorbranche aufgerufen wurden. NIKWAX Pflegemittel haben zu KEINER Zeit PFC enthalten, denn NIKWAX teilt die Besorgnis von Greenpeace, dass diese Chemikalien für die menschliche Gesundheit und die Umwelt ein Risiko mit sich bringen!

ZELTWELT tut dies auch…


WIE IMPRÄGNIERE ICH MIT NIKWAX?

Anwendung

Eine Behandlung mit NIKWAX empfiehlt sich bei einem intensiven, ganzjährigen Einsatz und je nach Zustand des Materials, spätestens nach zwei Jahren. Wenn Sie das Zelt im Herbst abbauen möchten oder es stark verschmutzt ist, empfiehlt es sich vorher das Zelt zu reinigen (siehe Tipp – Zeltreinigung) und erst danach zu pflegen. Nach einem harten Winter würden wir die Imprägnierung an einem trockenen Frühlingstag durchzuführen.

Dafür benötigen Sie:

  • Leiter
  • Garten Zerstäuber / Drucksprüher (Fachhandel, Baumarkt)
  • evt. ein Haushalts – Wischmob

1 Teil NIKWAX mit 9 Teilen warmen Wassers gut mischen (1:9) und das Material gewissenhaft von oben nach unten auftragen. Bei einem nassen Zelt muss das Verhältnis vielleicht etwas reduziert werden auf ca. 1:7-8 Teile Wasser. Wenn das Mittel zu dünn gemischt ist, läuft es einem über die Zeltkante zu schnell ab. Ideal wäre, wenn das Mittel fliesst aber einem genug Zeit bleibt es gleichmässig zu verteilen. Ein Wischmob kann Ihnen dabei behilflich sein, das überschüssige Mittel ins Material einzuarbeiten. Damit Sie ein optimales Ergebnis erhalten, muss das Mittel anschiessend vollständig austrocknen können.

WIE FUNKTIONIERT NIKWAX COTTON PROOF?

Das Wasser perlt auf dem mit NIKWAX behandelten Material ab, wodurch der Kontakt von Wasser mit dem Material minimiert wird. Wie zum Beispiel durch das Aufschlagen von Regentropfen auf die Materialoberfläche werden die Tropfen zwar in ihrer Form verzerrt, dringen jedoch nicht in das Gewebe ein. Die Wasser abweisenden Fasern verhindern den Kontakt mit dem Wasser, welches sich auf der Oberfläche sammelt.  

Vor 25 Jahren entwickelte und patentierte Nick Brown, Erfinder von NIKWAX, das Wasser abweisende NIKWAX Elastomer TX.10i. Bei der Behandlung mit NIKWAX werden Textilfasern mit einer Schicht von elastischen, Wasser abweisenden Molekülen überzogen. Diese Moleküle binden sich mit allem, was Wasser anzieht, lassen die Lücken zwischen den Fasern jedoch offen und bleibt dadurch atmungsaktiv.

NIKWAX Imprägnierbehandlungen biegen und bewegen sich mit den Textilfasern. Das Elastomer TX.10i gibt Textilien außerdem zusätzliche Belastbarkeit. Durch eine Schmierung der Textilien können die Fasern wieder ohne großen Widerstand übereinander gleiten. Die Imprägnierbehandlungen sorgen weiterhin dafür, dass die Fasern mit elastischem Polymer, welches eine federnde Eigenschaft besitzt, überzogen werden. Die Fasern können sich somit bis zu einem bestimmten Grad auszudehnen und wieder in ihre Ursprungsposition zurückzukehren. Dadurch wird die Belastung an den Berührungspunkten der Fasern reduziert und eine höhere Reißfestigkeit der Textilien erreicht.

nIKWAx cotton proof Video

Translate »
Zeltwelt Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie zukünftig spannende News, die neusten Angebote aus unserem Marktplatz sowie Tipps und Zeltgeschichten aus der Welt der Naturzelte bequem in Ihr digitales Postfach.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×