The Adventure Land Walter ZOO | 11

Zeltwelt_WalterZoo_pano_2016

The adventure land Walter Zoo an experience for the whole family!


Location Gossau SG
Customer Walter ZOO
Date since 1997
occasion Overnight accommodation
Key data Potlachtipis 8m


Our contribution

Since 1997 we have equipped the Walter Zoo several times with our tipis. Initially, the tipis consisted of a 360g / m² cotton fabric. After a few years, however, they switched to the 420g / m² extra strong blended fabric, as this material is generally better suited for year-round use. The place is narrow and is on a steep slope, which makes the construction a bit exhausting, but with the efficient staff of the zoo, the tents are always set up quickly.

In 2013 we delivered two prototypes to Gossau. The Walter Zoo offered the TenCate as a test object for our new fabric quality. This new material is said to be even more resistant than the 420 cotton fabric.

More about Tencate

TenCate has a fire retardant finish and is provided with additional UV protection. We very much hoped that this novel material would last longer under the extreme conditions in the zoo. After a good 3 years, this cover is also due without maintenance or service. Basically, apart from minor cracks, the covers were still intact, but they urgently needed a holistic one Cleaning and care, as Repair needed. Shortly before Easter 2016, Walter Zoo decided to replace the tipis.

It is one of the most extreme places and there is no other place where our natural tents are challenged so much! The agricultural environment, the variety of microorganisms through the animals in the zoo and with the intensive use, even the best material comes eventually to its limits.


Information about Walter Zoo

Walter ZOO in Gossau SG has been offering a night owl tipicamp for 17 years.

The Adventure Land Walter ZOO is idyllically located above Gossau SG and was founded in 1961 by Walter Pischl and his wife Edith. Today the zoo is home to around 500 animals of over 100 species from all continents. As a member of EAZA (European Association of Zoos and Aquaria), Walter ZOO is committed to modern and scientific management of the company. Participation in the EEP (European Conservation Breeding Program) also contributes to the conservation of various animal species.

The highlight of every day at the zoo is a visit to the circus tent, where during the summer months (March to October) there is an annually changing, one-hour performance with the animals. They also hold various events in the tipis. It will Indian stories told around the warm campfire or for that Nightwatch program Eaten in the tepee and stayed overnight.

MORE ABOUT THE WALTER ZOO


GALLERY

 

Zeltwelt Subscribe to newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive in the future exciting news, the latest offers from our marketplace as well as tips and tent stories from the world of natural tents conveniently in your digital mailbox.

Translate »
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×

Das Abenteuerland Walter ZOO | 11

Zeltwelt_WalterZoo_pano_2016

Das Abenteuerland Walter Zoo ein Erlebnis für die ganze Familie!


Ort Gossau SG
Kunde Walter ZOO
Datum seit 1997
Anlass Übernachtungsmöglichkeit
Eckdaten Potlachtipis 8m


Unser Beitrag

Seit 1997 rüsteten wir den Walter Zoo mehrmals mit unseren Tipis aus. Anfänglich bestanden die Tipis aus einem 360g/m² starken Baumwollgewebe. Nach ein paar Jahre sind sie aber auf das 420g/m² extra starke Mischgewebe umgestiegen, da dieses Material grundsätzlich für einen ganzjährigen Gebrauch besser geeignet ist. Der Platz ist eng und liegt an einem steilen Hang, was den Aufbau etwas anstrengend macht aber mit den tüchtigen Mitarbeitern des Zoos, sind die Zelte immer rasch gestellt.

2013 lieferten wir zwei Prototypen nach Gossau. Der Walter Zoo hatte sich als Testobjekt für unsere neue Stoffqualität dem TenCate angeboten. Dieses neuartige Material soll noch widerstandsfähiger sein als das Baumwollgewebe 420er.

Mehr über Tencate

TenCate hat eine feuerhemmende Ausrüstung und ist mit einem zusätzlichen UV–Schutz versehen. Wir hofften sehr, dass dieses neuartige Material unter den extremen Bedingungen im Zoo länger standhält. Nach gut 3 Jahren ist auch diese Hülle ohne Pflege und Service fällig. Grundsätzlich waren die Hüllen abgesehen von kleineren Rissen noch intakt aber sie hätten dringend eine ganzheitliche Reinigung und Pflege, sowie Reparatur benötigt. Kurz vor Ostern 2016, entschied sich der Walter Zoo die Tipis doch zu ersetzen.

Es ist einer der extremsten Plätze und an keinem anderen Ort werden unsere Naturzelte so stark gefordert! Die landwirtschaftliche Umgebung, die Vielzahl der Mikroorganismen durch die Tiere im Zoo und mit dem intensiven Einsatz, kommt auch das beste Material irgendwann an seine Grenzen.


Informationen zum Walter Zoo

Seit 17 Jahren bietet der Walter ZOO in Gossau SG ein Nachtschwärmer-Tipicamp an.

Das Abenteuerland Walter ZOO befindet sich an idyllischer Lage oberhalb von Gossau SG und wurde 1961 von Walter Pischl und seiner Frau Edith gegründet. Heute beherbergt der Zoo rund 500 Tiere in über 100 Arten aus allen Kontinenten. Als Mitglied der EAZA (European Association of Zoos and Aquaria) bekennt sich der Walter ZOO zur modernen und wissenschaftlichen Führung des Betriebes. Durch die Mitwirkung am EEP (europäisches Erhaltungszuchtprogramm) wird zudem zur Erhaltung verschiedener Tierarten beigetragen.

Höhepunkt jedes Zootages ist der Besuch im Zirkuszelt, wo während der Sommermonate (März bis Oktober) eine jährlich wechselnde, gut einstündige Vorstellung mit den Tieren geboten wird. Zudem führen sie verschiedene Veranstaltungen in den Tipis durch. Es werden Indianergeschichten am warmen Lagerfeuer erzählt oder für das Nachtschwärmer-Programm im Tipi gegessen und übernachtet.

MEHR ZUM WALTER ZOO


Galerie

 

Translate »
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×